UWC Karate



UWC Karate, UWC Sport builds and profiles the image of the University through the support of both competitive and campus recreation sport as a contributor to the holistic development of the students and staff of the University.



Vision

Excellence through Sport 



Our Mission is:

  • To bring students together, and to coordinate their sport experience supporting their holistic development
  • To implement a system for the improvement of sport performance standards.
  • To make a meaningful contribution towards the strategic priorities of the University.
Contact Us 

Sport Administration Office
Contact Person: Hayward Barends 
Email:                  hmbarends@uwc.ac.za alternatively you can email                             sport@uwc.ac.za
Tel:                     +27 21 959 2023Fax:                    +27 21 959 2015

Physical Address

University of the Western Cape 

Robert Sobukwe​ Road



Bellville, 7535



Republic of South Africa​​​​



Sport Administration Office

NameNumberEmailCode
Alexander, Frederick021 959 2548falexander@uwc.ac.zaGround Staff
Andreas, Wynand021 959 2318wandreas@uwc.ac.zaSwimming Pool Staff
Barends, Hayward021 959 2023hmbarends@uwc.ac.zaProject Coordinator
Bentley, Glen021 959 2318gbentley@uwc.ac.zaManagerof Support Services. Athletics and Boxing
Cloete, Elmien021 959 2791ecloete@uwc.ac.zaRugby and Volleyball
Gagayi, Mandla021 959 2207mgagayi@uwc.ac.zaDirector
Heyns, Adrian021 959 2980aheyns@uwc.ac.zaNetball and Dance Sport
Kensley, Colin021 959 3675ckensley@uwc.ac.zaFacility Supervisor
​Trout, Clement​ctrout@uwc.ac.za​Sports Administrator, Basketball, Cricket and Chess.
Langeveld, Avril021 959 9732alangeveld@uwc.ac.zaAdministrative Officer
Mgulwa, Nadia021 959 2548nmgulwa@uwc.ac.zaHockey, Karate and cheerleading
Onderson, D Mr021 959 2018dordenson@uwc.ac.zaAquatics, Supa Pool, Rowing, Table Tennis and ​Hiking
S​​​warts, ​J Mr021 959 2548jswarts@uwc.ac.zaGround Staff
Wrankmore, Andrew021 959 3449awrankmore@uwc.za​
Gym Manager and Bodybuilding
Simphiwe Makinana021 959 2348smakinana@uwc.ac.zaSquash