UWC Courses

UWC Courses, The University of the Western Cape is a national university, alert to its African and international context as it strives to be a place of quality, a place to grow. It is located in the Bellvillesuburb of Cape Town, South Africa. It is committed to excellence in teaching, learning and research, to nurturing the cultural diversity of South Africa, and to respuniversity. The University was established in 1960 by the South African government onding in critical and creative ways to the needs of a society in transition.

Drawing on its proud experience in the liberation struggle, the university is aware of a distinctive academic role in helping build an equitable and dynamic society. In particular it aims to: Advance and protect the independence of the academic enterprise.Further global perspectives among its staff and students, thereby strengthening intellectual life and contributing to South Africa’s reintegration in the world community.Assist educationally disadvantaged students gain access to higher education and succeed in their studies. Encourage and provide opportunities for lifelong learning through programmes and courses.

Departments and Faculties

Faculty of Natural Science

  • Department of Biodiversity and Conservation Biology
  • Department of Biotechnology
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Earth Science
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Medical BioScience
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Statistics and Population Studies

Faculty of Arts

  • Department of Afrikaans and Nederland
  • Department of Anthropology and Sociology
  • Department of English
  • Department of Foreign Languages
  • Department of Geography, Environmental Studies & Tourism
  • Department of History
  • Department of Linguistics
  • Department of Library and Information Science
  • Department of Religion and Theology
  • Department of Women’s and Gender Studies
  • Department of Xhosa
  • Department of Philosophy

Faculty of Community and Health

  • Department of Occupational Therapy
  • Department of Physiotherapy
  • Department of Psychology 
  • Department of Social Work
  • Department of Sport, Recreation and Exercise Science (SRES)

Faculty of Dentistry

  • Orthodontics and Paediatric Dentistry
  • Oral Hygiene
  • Restorative Dentistry
  • Community Oral Health
  • Diagnostic Sciences.
  • Maxillo-Facial & Oral Surgery and Anaesthesiology & Sedation

Department of Economics and Management Sciences

  • Department of Academic Development
  • Department of Accounting
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Industrial Psychology
  • Department of Information Systems
  • Department of Political Studies
  • Department of Public Administration (SOG Undergraduate Programme)

Faculty of Education

  • Department of Educational Psychology
  • Department of Educational Studies
  • Department of Language Education

Faculty of Law

  • Criminal Justice and Procedure
  • Mercantile and Labour Law
  • Public Law and Jurisprudence
  • Private Law