Sefako Makgatho Faq

Sefako Makgatho Faq, SMU was established when the Minister of Higher Education and Training, Dr Blade Nzimande in terms of section 20 of the Higher Education Act 1997 (Act 101 of 1997) promulgated the Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University (SMU) in the SA Government Gazette no: 37658 of 16 May 2014.

The promulgation followed the announcement made in 2011, by Minister Nzimande, when he announced his intention to separate the Medunsa Campus, from the University of Limpopo. The minister’s intention was based on the findings and recommendations of the task team that was established and led by Prof Malegapuru Makgoba, former Vice-Chancellor of University of Kwa-Zulu Natal (UKZN) and Dr Max Price, the Vice-Chancellor of University of Cape Town (UCT).

When did SMU open its doors?

The university opened its doors in January 2015 after the Mendunsa Campus was uncoupled from the University of Limpopo and incorporated into SMU

Where is SMU located?

SMU is located at Ga-Rankuwa Township (next to Dr George Mukhari Academic Hospital).

GPS coordinates:

25.37.8 South, 28.1.22 East

What courses are offered by SMU?

SMU focuses on health and allied health sciences courses as part of government grand plan to expand access to education and training opportunities for the youth, by increasing the number of young people in education, employment and training.

Read More

How to apply to study at SMU?

Visit : and go to prospective students.

Who is Sefako Makgatho?

The late Sefako Makgato whom the university is named after, is a highly acclaimed politician, journalist, educationist and theologian who struggle for South Africa that is legitimate, non-exploitative and democratic.