UKZN Zoology



UKZN Zoology, The School of Life Sciences, which is located on the Pietermaritzburg and Westville campuses, is one of five schools in the College of Agriculture, Engineering and Science.
The School’s cutting edge laboratories and research equipment compare favourably with the best in the world. Caring and enthusiastic lecturers ensure that students emerge highly employable, with a rich university experience and a first class degree in the Life Sciences to their name.
This field of study encompasses all human, plant and animal life – ranging from microscopic germs to elephants and everything in between.



Contact Us
Pietermartizburg campus
Westville campus
Physical address
Agriculture campus, Room 105 John Bews B,Carbis Road, Scottsville, 3209

Postal address
Private Bag X01, Scottsville, 3209
Physical address
Westville campus, School of Life Sciences, New Biology Building Room 03-004, University Road, Westville, 3629
Postal address
Private Bag X54001, Durban, 4000
PA to Dean & HOD  |  Shereen Samuels  |  sammuelss@ukzn.ac.za  |  031 260 1545
School Administration 
  • Devashnee Chinniah
  • chinniahd@ukzn.ac.za
  • 033 260 5122
School Administration 





  • Devashnee Chinniah
  • chinniahd@ukzn.ac.za
  • 033 260 8317
Undergraduate Administration

  • Charmaine Ahrens
  • ahrensc@ukzn.ac.za
  • 033 260 5435
  • Ziyanda Ndlovu
  • ndlovuz2@ukzn.ac.za
  • 033 260 5104
Undergraduate Administration



  • Shereen Samuels
  • samuelss@ukzn.ac.za
  • 033 260 8234
  • Molly Gasela
  • GaselaY@ukzn.ac.za
  • 033 260 3192
Postgraduate Administration

  • Tanya Karalic
  • karalict@ukzn.ac.za
  • 033 260 5505
  • Natalie Jones
  • jonesn@ukzn.ac.za
  • 033 260 5525
Postgraduate Administration

  • Shireen Chetrum
  • chetramu@ukzn.ac.za
  • 031 260 1602
  • Siphokazi Khawula
  • KhawulaS@ukzn.ac.za
  • 031 260 7401