B Pharm Sefako Makgatho

B Pharm Sefako Makgatho, the School of Pharmacy is the newest School of Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University. Initially the School will operate as a mono-structure and Departments will be established during 2017.

The School of Pharmacy offers undergraduate programmes for basic and post-basic pharmacist’s assistants and the Bachelor of Pharmacy degree. The postgraduate programmes include the Master of Pharmacy in the disciplines of clinical, industrial, public health pharmacy and management, and radiopharmacy. Candidates are also enrolled for PhD degrees. Our programmes are evaluated by external examiners from other universities and accredited by the South African Pharmacy Council.

Our students come from all provinces of the RSA and from a number of African countries. During their studies the students obtain clinical experience at various facilities including hospitals, clinics and community based programmes in Gauteng, Mpumalanga and North-West Provinces. Our students enjoy a very healthy relationship with very loyal and committed staff within the School.

The Photobiology Laboratory is also housed in the School and attracts several national and international studies from the cosmetic industry. The School of Pharmacy also offers the dispensing course and several continuing professional development courses for health professionals.

The School of Pharmacy is committed to its vision to be the benchmark for innovative and sustainable pharmacy-related programmes for teaching, research and services for all.