UKZN Westville Library



UKZN Westville Library, The Main Library was founded in 1961 and was located at Salisbury Island. In the early 1970s the Library moved to Westville when the University of Durban-Westville relocated.
The Library serves the needs of students, staff and researchers in the Commerce and Management Sciences, Health Sciences, and the Sciences (Life Sciences, Mathematics, Biology, Biochemistry, Geology, Chemistry, Physics and Computer Science).
The collection consists of more than 250 000 volumes of books, journals and other multi-media items in various formats, and a growing collection of electronic resources, in particular journals. The Library also has an important audio-visual collection. Off campus access to a range of online databases and journals is available to UKZN staff and registered students. You will need to authenticate yourself with your lan login.
An Academic Reserves collection is available at Westville housing copies of prescribed and  recommended books and other materials in high demand. Such materials must be used in the library during the day but may be borrowed overnight or for weekends. Please consult the nearest Academic Reserves desk for information. There is also a guide under the ‘Services’ tab on this website.
An Interlibrary loans service provides items required for academic research work which are not held by a particular campus library or any of the UKZN libraries. Items that are borrowed from outside UKZN are borrowed from any library in the country that forms part of the ILL agreement. There are charges in certain circumstances, please consult the ILL office before you submit requests.
The library has a post graduate Research Commons.
An Subject librarians are available to assist users with information related queries and user education. Please consult the ‘Contact us’ tab on the library website.
Libguides are subject based information guides to information resources for the different disciplines.
 





library hours
Term time Weekdays Saturday Sunday
Edgewood                       Open 24 hours      
Howard College
EGM Library                                            Open 24 hours
Architecture 08h00 – 23h00 08h30 – 17h00 08h30 – 17h00
  Law  08h00 – 16h30  08h30 – 12h30  Closed
Music
      08h00 – 23h00
08h30-12h30
Closed
Medical Library  Open 24 hours
Pietermaritzburg
Cecil Renaud  Open 24 hours
Life Sciences
08h00 – 23h00
08h30-12h30 Closed
Law Open 24 hours 08h30-17h00 Closed
Westville  Open 24 hours
Examination Time Weekdays Saturday Sunday
Edgewood Open 24 hours
Howard College
EGM Library  Open 24 hours
Architecture 08h00 – 23h00 08h30-12h30 Closed
Law Open 24 hours
Music 08h00 – 23h00 08h30-12h30 Closed
Medical Library  Open 24 hours
Pietermaritzburg
Cecil Renaud Open 24 hours
Life Sciences 08h00 – 23h00 08h30-12h30 Closed
Law Open 24 hours 08h30-17h00 Closed
Westville Open 24 hours
Supplementary Exam Time
Weekdays
Saturday
Sunday
Edgewood Open 24 hours
Howard College
EGM Library Open 24 hours
Architecture 08h00 – 23h00 08h30-12h30 Closed
Law Open 24 hours
Music 08h00 – 23h00 08h30-12h30 Closed
Medical Library Open 24 hours
Pietermaritzburg
Cecil Renaud Open 24 hours
Life Sciences 08h00 – 23h00 08h30-12h30 Closed
Law Open 24 hours 08h30-17h00 Closed
Westville Open 24 hours
Vacation : Easter Weekdays Saturday Sunday
Edgewood Open 24 hours
Howard College
EGM Library Open 24 hours
Architecture 08h00 – 23h00 08h30-12h30 Closed
Law Open 24 hours
Music
08h00 – 23h00
08h30-12h30 Closed
Medical Library
Open 24 hours
Pietermaritzburg
Cecil Renaud Open 24 hours
Life Sciences 08h00 – 23h00 08h30-12h30 Closed
Law Open 24 hours 08h30-17h00 Closed
Westville Open 24 hours
       
Vacation : June Weekdays Saturday Sunday
Edgewood 08h00 – 16h30  08h30-12h30 Closed
Howard College
EGM Library 08h00 – 16h30 08h30-12h30 Closed
Architecture 08h00 – 16h30 08h30-12h30 Closed
Law 08h00 – 16h30 08h30-12h30 Closed
Music 08h00 – 16h30 08h30-12h30 Closed
  Medical Library  07h30 – 16h30  08h30 – 12h30  Closed
Pietermaritzburg
Cecil Renaud
08h00 – 16h30
08h30-12h30 Closed
Life Sciences 08h00 – 16h30 08h30-12h30 Closed
Law 08h00 – 16h30 08h30-12h30 Closed
Westville
08h00 – 16h30
08h30-12h30 Closed
Vacation : September Weekdays Saturday Sunday
Edgewood Open 24 hours
Howard College
EGM Library  Open 24 hours
Architecture 08h00 – 23h00 08h00 – 23h00 08h00 – 23h00
Law Open 24 hours
Music 08h00 – 23h00 08h00 – 23h00 08h00 – 23h00
Medical Library Open 24 hours
Pietermaritzburg
Cecil Renaud Open 24 hours
Life Sciences 08h00 – 23h00 08h00 – 23h00 08h00 – 23h00
Law Open 24 hours
Westville Open 24 hours
       
Vacation : December Weekdays Saturday Sunday
Edgewood 08h00 – 16h30  Closed Closed
Howard College
EGM Library
08h00 – 16h30
Closed Closed
Architecture 08h00 – 16h30 Closed Closed
Law 08h00 – 16h30 Closed Closed
Music 08h00 – 16h30
Closed
Closed
Medical Library 08h00 – 16h30 Closed Closed
Pietermaritzburg
Cecil Renaud 08h00 – 16h30  Closed  Closed
Life Sciences 08h00 – 16h30 Closed Closed
Law 08h00 – 16h30  Closed Closed
Westville 08h00 – 16h30  Closed Closed
 Year-End Break   Year-End Break  Year-End Break  Year-End Break
 Date  Weekdays  Saturday  Sunday
  Edgewood, Howard College, Pietermaritzburg, Westville
 28th Nov to 21st Dec  08h00 – 16h30  Closed  Closed
 22nd December  08h00 – 12h00
  Medical School
 08th Dec to 21st Dec  08h00 – 16h30  Closed  Closed
 22nd December  08h00 – 12h00

 

  •   Some of the times may vary due to the individual campus programmes. 
  •  All libraries are closed during the period between Christmas and New Year.
  •  All libraries are closed on public holidays.

 

GENERAL CONTACT DETAILS

Surname / Name Department Library E-mail Telephone
Ahmed, Abdul Information Services Main Library, WESTVILLE Ahmeda@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607456
Alli, Shaida Circulation Law Library, PMB Allis@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605384
Basdeo Sanjeev Information Services Main Library, WESTVILLE Basdeos@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607458
Beharilal, Desmond Information Services Edminson Library, EDGEWOOD Beharilald@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602894
Beharilal, Richard Information Services Main Library, WESTVILLE Beharilalr@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607450
Bhengu, Faith Information Services Head EGM Library, HC Bhengun1@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602062
Bhim Shanitha Academic Reserves Cecil Renaud Library, PMB Bhims@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605269
Bowler Carol Information Services University Archives, PMB Bowlerc@ukzn.ac.za 033-2606442
Bunseelal Lavesh Circulation Edminson Library, EDGEWOOD Bunseelall@ukzn.ac.za 031-2603942
Buthelezi Sizakele Architecture Barrie Biermann Architecture Library, HC Buthelezib3@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602716
Buthelezi Vusi Campbell Collections Campbell Collections butheleziv@ukzn.ac.za 031 2601723
Chetty Colin Information Services Edminson Library, EDGEWOOD Chettypk@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607672
Damonse Renee Information Services Cecil Renaud Library, PMB damonse@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605056
Dlamini Justice Circulation Medical Library, MED Dlamini@ukzn.ac.za 031-2604261
Dorasamy Roy ISD Main Library, WESTVILLE Dorasamym@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607390
Gani N Abdool Manuscript Librarian Alan Paton Centre gani@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605926
George Wayne Digitization EGM Library, HC georgew@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602158
Goodall Richard Circulation EGM Library, HC Goodallr1@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602322/2323
Govender Kenneth Circulation Edminson Library, EDGEWOOD govenderk64@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607469
Govender Malanie Acquisitions EGM Library, HC kangaloo@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607395
Govender Ravi Cataloguing EGM Library, HC govenderab@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607451
Govender Reena Finance EGM Library, HC govenderre@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602007
Hall Kerry Administration Main Library, WESTVILLE hall@ukzn.ac.za 031-2608058
Harkhu Shorba Information Services Life Sciences Library, PMB Harkhus@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605162
Hurrisparsad Dees Periodicals Main Library, WESTVILLE hurrisparsaad@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607385
Jagarnath Omesh LIS EGM Library, HC jagarnat@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602057
Jagesar Yakesh Circulation Life Sciences Library, PMB Jagesar@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605163
Jakeni, Luleka Campbell Collections Campbell Collections Jakenil@ukzn.ac.za 031-260-1712
Johns Celeste Circulation Cecil Renaud Library, PMB johns@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605962
Kemrajh Mukesh Information Services Edminson Library, EDGEWOOD kemrajh@ukzn.ac.za 031-2603656
Kercival Claudette Information Services EGM Library, HC kercival@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602063
Khanyile Nompumelelo Circulation Cecil Renaud Library, PMB khanyileno@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605258
Khumalo, Lindiwe Institutional Repository Consultant EGM Library, HC Gumedel@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602845
Khumalo, Sipho Circulation Head Main Library, WESTVILLE Khumalos2@ukzn.ac.za 033-2607713
Khuzwayo Msizi Academic Reserves Medical Library, MED Khumalo@ukzn.ac.za 031-2604261
Krige Emily Campbell Collections Campbell Collections krige1@ukzn.ac.za 031 2601706
Kuhn Rose Information Services Cecil Renaud Library, PMB Kuhn@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605904
Kutumela Matsobane Web and Database Consultant EGM Library, HC Kutumela@ukzn.ac.za 031-2601491
Laljeeth Pravina Information Services Main Library, WESTVILLE Laljeethp@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607422
Latif Sherian Library Officer Alan Paton Centre, Pmb Latifs@ukzn.ac.za 033-2606991
Liebenberg-Barkhuizen Estelle Alan Paton Centre, Information Services Alan Paton Centre Liebbe@ukzn.ac.za 033-2606496
Madibi Zizipho Cataloguing EGM Library, HC madibi@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602444
Magagula Mbongiseni Information Services Eleanor Bonnar Music Library magagulam2@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602642
Magwaza Nkululeko Information Services EGM Library, HC magwaza@ukzn.ac.za 031-2603827
Maharaj Rabin Academic Reserves Cecil Renaud Library, PMB Maharajr@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605269
Maharaj Sanjay Circulation Main Library, WESTVILLE maharajnu@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607390
Maharaj, Seema Interlibrary Loans EGM Library, HC maharajse@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602297
Majola Kadephi Information Services Law Library, HC majolak@ukzn.ac.za 031-2601387
Majola, Winile Dentistry Main Library, WESTVILLE majolaw@ukzn.ac.za 031- 2426202
Manunga-Ndubandubane, Ntomboxolo Marcia Acquisitions Pietermaritzburg Ndubandm@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605065
Mchunu, Eric Information Services Medical School Library Mchunum2@ukzn.ac.za 031-260-4372
Mkhize Senzo Campbell Collections Campbell Collections mkhizese@ukzn.ac.za 031 2601710
Mncwabe Beauty Circulation EGM Library, HC mncwabe@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602323
Moodley Surendran Cataloguing EGM Library, HC moodleysu@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602444
Moonsamy Mark Head Acquisitions EGM Library, HC moonsamydo@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607395
Mshengu Jabulile Information Services Cecil Renaud Library, PMB sibisij@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605942
Mthembu Felicia Circulation: Collection Maintenance EGM Library, HC Mthembuf1@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602299
Mthiyane Nontobeko Finance Officer Main Library, WESTVILLE Mthiyaneno@ukzn.ac.za 031-2608716
Multi-Media Classroom , Pmb Pietermaritzburg 033-2605419
Munsamy Thiru Information Services Documentation Centre, WESTVILLE munsamyt@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607351
Munshi Sanjeeth Academic Reserves Main Library, WESTVILLE munshish@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607454
Myeza Joyce Director EGM Library, HC Myezaj3@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602047
Naidoo Caroline Acquisitions EGM Library, HC naidooca@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607395
Naidoo Ramanie Devi Acquisitions EGM Library, HC rnaidoo@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607395
Naidoo Susheila Circulation Head Edminson Library EDGEWOOD snaidoo@ukzn.ac.za 031-2601920
Naidoo, Cheryl Eileen Cataloguing EGM Library, HC naidooe@ukzn.ac.za 031-26037753
Naidoo, Praba Information Services Head Medical Library, MED Naidoop11@ukzn.ac.za 031-2604788
Naidoo, Praba Information Services Head Edminson Library, EDGEWOOD Naidoop11@ukzn.ac.za 031-2603962
Narie, Emmanuel Documentation Centre Main Library, WESTVILLE narieed@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607350
Ncongwane, Goitsemang Information Services Cecil Renaud Library, PMB ncongwaneg4@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605062
Ndlovu, Nokuthula Periodicals Main Library, WESTVILLE ndlovunn@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607015
Ndlovu, Zandile Nokuthula Acquisitions Cecil Renaud Library, PMB ndlovuz3@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605942
Ngcakaza-Mchunu, Nonkuthalo Information Services Medical Library, MED ngcakaza@ukzn.ac.za 031 260 4766
Ngcobo Nonjabulo Information Services EGM Library, HC Ngcobon16@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602061
Ngcobo, Nonhlanhla Administration Cecil Renaud Library, PMB ngcobon15@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605096
Nkuna, Themba Information Services Cecil Renaud Library, PMB Nkunat@ukzn.ac.za 033-2606428
Nxedlana, Aubrey Acquisitions EGM Library, HC nxedlanaw@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607395
Nyaba Wendy Collection Maintenance Main Library, WESTVILLE nyaban@ukzn.ac.za 031-2608175
Pather Roshini Administration Edminson Library, EDGEWOOD patherr@ukzn.ac.za 031-2603025
Pather Roshini Administration Medical Library, MED patherr@ukzn.ac.za 031-2604373
Philips Cordell Cataloguing Cecil Renaud Library, PMB PhilipsC@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605384
Photocopy room EGM Library, HC 031-2603039
Pillay Shirley Circulation Edminson Library, EDGEWOOD Pillays53@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607469
Pitout Nicky Circulation Life Sciences Library, PMB pitout@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605163
Pramlal Ashika Information Services Main Library, WESTVILLE pramlala@ukzn.ac.za 031-2608121
Rajen Maharaj photocopying room EGM Library, HC 031-2603039
Ramdass Gita Senior Library Assistant University Archives Ramdass@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605622
Ramlakhan Ashika Cataloguing EGM Library, HC Ramlakhana@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607753
Research Commons Information Services EGM Library, HC 031-2603562
Research Commons, Edgewood Edminson Library EDGEWOOD 031-2603962
Research Commons, Westville Main Library, WESTVILLE 031-2607693
Shezi Nomusa Digitisation EGM Library, HC shezin7@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602158
Shezi, Simon Information Services Cecil Renaud Library, PMB shezim@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605060
Somers Anita Library IT Support Research Commons, Westville somersa@ukzn.ac.za 031-2607693
Somers Nellie Information Services Campbell Collections somers@ukzn.ac.za 031-2601713
Sookraj Varsha Systems Consultant EGM Library, HC sookraj@ukzn.ac.za 031-2601460
Sukram Praversh Administration Cecil Renaud Library, PMB Sukram@ukzn.ac.za 033-2606194
Tayler Bronwyn Collection Maintenance / Processing Cecil Renaud Library, PMB TaylerB@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605065
Thomas Louann Administration Cecil Renaud Library, PMB Thomasl@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605265
Timms John Interlibrary loans Cecil Renaud Library, PMB TimmsJ@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605942
Van der Berg Liz Library Information Systems UKZN Libraries Vdberge@ukzn.ac.za 033-2606178
Viljoen Jillian Information Services Cecil Renaud Library, PMB viljoenj@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605261
Webster Michelle Administration EGM Library, HC webster@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602317
Xulu, Aphelele Circulation Head Medical Library, MED xulua1@ukzn.ac.za 031-2604430
Xulu, Thabile Administration Campbell Collections xulut2@ukzn.ac.za 031-2601720
Ziqubu, Nokulunga Information Services EGM Library, HC ziqubunf@ukzn.ac.za 031-2603472
Zondi, Thabile Acquisitions Cecil Renaud Library, PMB zondit@ukzn.ac.za 033-2605942
Zungu Solomon Circulation Law Library, HC zungus3@ukzn.ac.za 031-2602541
Zungu Vivian Circulation: Collection Maintenance Main Library, WESTVILLE zunguv@ukzn.ac.za 031-2608175