University Of Johannesburg Soweto Campus Courses

University Of Johannesburg Soweto Campus Courses, the Soweto Campus (SWC) of the University of Johannesburg (UJ), formally known as Vista University, captures the vision of UJ as it sets itself up to to be an internationally recognized South African university that provides and develops academic and technological skills and knowledge with the aim of promoting development and prosperity.
The community of Soweto now has access to a state-of-the-art higher learning facility, following the multimillion-rand upgrading of the University of Johannesburg’s (SWC) campus. The Campus caters for 2 500 international students from 52 countries and 10 500 South Africans from many regions of the country.
The Campus is very proud of the formation of the Soweto Centre for Small and Medium Business Enterprise Development. This centre is run by the faculty of Management and boasts several informal programmes specializing in the education of local entrepreneurs
The Centre is the first phase of the Campus’s innovative development, the Johannesburg School of Leadership, with its distinctive focus on and exploration of African leadership.
Full-time courses:

  • Education
  • Economic & Financial Sciences
  • Management
  • Humanities

Short Courses: 
One year Qualifications, with lectures of three consecutive full days per month:

  • Business analysis
  • Operations & Productivity
  • Risk Management
  • Project Management
  • Change Management

The Soweto Campus (SWC) has three residences.These consist of one mixed residence, one female residence and one male residence.


SWC will become the campus of choice for most students and will be an engaging facility that will cultivate the rich intellectual and artistic talent that continues to emerge from his extraordinary place.

  • Enhancing academic space
  • Expanding research capacity
  • Proving support systems to assist staff and students to achieve academic goals
  • Improving quality of student life
  • Partnerships with the industry

SWC was previously called Vista University. It was opened for learning as University of Johannesburg, Soweto Campus, on 28 February 2011.
In 2005 the government allocated funds for a revamp of the campus that began in March 2009 and was funded by the Department of Education and the private sector.
The 4th February 2011 saw the opening of the 7th academic year of the University and the official unveiling of the R 400-million revamped Soweto Campus.

Physical address:
Soweto Campus
Chris Hani Road
Power Park
011 559 5200
Soweto Campus S26 15 34.3 E27 55 26.3
​Old Potch, Road Soweto​
Campus Map:
Road Map: